CHAPTER I.

PROVINCE OF BRITISH COLUMBIA.

(Entered Confederation, 20th July, 1871.)

¥.

SEAT OF GOVERNMENT - VICTORIA.

LIEUTENANT-GOVERNOR-HON. HUGH NELSON.

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL.

1891.

President of the Council		
Attorney-General	"	Theodore Davie.
Premier, Provincial Secretary, Minister of Mines and		
Clerk of Executive Council	""	John Robson.
Chief Commissioner of Lands and Works	"	Forbes George Vernon.
Minister of Finance and Agriculture	"	John Herbert Turner.

LEGISLATURES SINCE 1871.

No. of Legislatures.	Ses- sions.	Date of			
		Opening.	Prorogation.	Dissolution.	
1st Legislature	2nd 3rd	Dec. 17, 1872 "18, 1873	April 11, 1872 Feb. 21, 1873 Mar. 2, 1874 April 22, 1875	brace August 30th, 1875.	
2nd Legislature	2nd		May 19, 1876 April 18, 1877 "10, 1878	$\bigg\} \text{April 12, 1878.}$	
	2nd 3rd 4th	Jan. 29, 1879 April 5, 1880	Sept. 2, 1878 April 29, 1879 May 8, 1880 Mar. 25, 1881 April 21, 1882		
õ	2nd	Dec. 3, 1883 Jan. 12, 1885	May 12, 1883 Feb. 18, 1884 Mar. 9, 1885 April 6, 1886	} June 3, 1886.	
5th Legislature	1st 2nd 3rd 4th	Jan. 24, 1887 " 27, 1888 " 31, 1889 " 23, 1890.	April 7, 1887 ^(*) 28, 1888., ^(*) 6, 1889 ^(*) 26, 1890	} May 10, 1890.	
6th Legislature	1st	Jan. 15, 1891			